News

Opening and closing of the Cave of the Patriarchs - 2018

The Hall of Isaac including the entrance to the Garden of Eden is open for Jews 10 times a year.

16.4.18, 13:33
The Tomb of Machpela is the 2,000-year-old structure that covers the underground cave of the Patriarchs and Matriarchs.  It contains both a synagogue area and a mosque area with each side being managed separately with separate entrances.
 
For ten days a year, the Muslim area of the Tomb of the Patriarchs is open for Jewish prayer services and for another ten days, the Jewish area is open for Muslim prayer services. This gives each side free access to otherwise off-limits sections, although certain sections are off limits even during these special days.
 
During normal days, the complex is divided into Jewish and Muslim areas with the Hall of Isaac and Rebecca reserved for Muslim prayers. This hall contains the small opening into the underground caves, known as the “entrance to the Garden of Eden.” 
 
Normal opening hours for the Jewish section are as follows:
 
Summer time - every day from 4:00 AM until 10:00 PM.
Winter time - every day from 4:00 AM until 9:00 PM.
 
 Jewish prayer days when the Hall of Isaac & Rebecca is open:
 
Erev Rosh Chodesh Elul (early) - Thursday, August 9, 2018
Rosh Hashanah - Monday Sep. 10, 2018 and Tuesday, Sep. 11, 2018 
Ten Days of Repentance - Sunday, Sep. 16, 2018
Yom Kippur - Wednesday, Sep. 19, 2018
Succot (two days) - Tuesday Sep. 25, 2018 and Wednesday Sep. 26, 2018
Shabbat Chayei Sarah - Saturday, November 3, 2018
Pesach (two days) - exact dates will be updated later
 
The Cave of the Patriarchs is open to Muslims only on the following days:
 
Isra and Mi'raj - Saturday, April 14, 2018
Start of Ramadan Month - Friday May 18, 2018
Ramadan - Friday, May 25, 2018
Ramadan - Friday, June 1, 2018
Ramadan - Friday, June 8, 2018
Laylat al-Qadr - Sunday, June 10, 2018
Eid Al Fitr - Thursday, June 14, 2018
Eid al Adha - Tuesday, August 21, 2018
Prophet's Birthday - Tuesday, November 20, 2018
 
Regarding Muslim holidays, there may be shifts of one or two days. It is recommended to check the exact time in advance.
 
On the days when the Cave of the Patriarchs is closed to non-Muslims, it is still possible to visit, and pray outside at the Seventh Step garden. This is the location where Jews prayed during the 700 years the complex was off limits to all non-Muslims starting with the Mamluke period.
 
This arrangement has been coordinated for the past 20 years between the Muslim Waqf and the Israeli government. During these days, Jewish prayer books, desks, chairs, etc. are removed and store, where as on the Muslim side, the carpets are rolled up. Most holidays go smoothly with coordination between the IDF, Wafq and emergency medical services but in the past, during Muslim holidays vandalism has taken place and mezuzahs have been removed and destroyed. 
 
For any additional inquiry and for coordinating events and celebrations, the Cave of the Patriarchs staff is at your service 050-647-7776.
 
No Comments