History

From Ruin to Redemption - The Story of Beit Romano

8.12.15, 22:36
The Beit Romano building was built in 1879 by the wealthy Turkish merchant, Avraham Romano. It symbolized the establishment of centers outside of the "ghetto" (the neighborhood of Avraham Avinu) and served as a guest house. The "Instanbul Synagogue" was later established on its premises. 

In the year 1901, the famous Rabbi Chaim Hezekiah Medini moved to the Land of Israel and opened a yeshiva at Beit Romano where his great work, a Talmudic encyclopedia entitled the "Sde Chemed" was completed. 

The building was purchased by the Lubavitcher Rebbe (Sholom Dovber Schneersohn) in 1912, who established the Torath Emeth Yeshiva within its confines. 

In 1917, the British took control of the structure and turned it into police headquarters. 

During the terrible riots of 1929, the officers of this police headquarters stood idly by as Jews were mercilessly massacred. The injured and murdered Jews were brought to the Beit Romano building. 

When the Jordanians gained control of the area, they turned the Beit Romano building into a school which continued to operate even after the liberation of Hebron in 1967. 

After the terrorist ambush that killed six people in 1980, the building was returned to Jewish hands. Yeshiva Shavei Hevron, under Rabbi Moshe Bleicher, first began at Beit Hadassah, and was moved from the Avraham Avinu Synagogue to the Beit Romano building. During the years 1996 - 2000, the building was renovated and in the process, a basement / ground floor was discovered and two more floors were added. 

Today the building stands five stories tall and boasts a large adjacent dining hall. 
 
United States contact info:

http://www.hebronfund.org
1760 Ocean Avenue
Brooklyn, NY 11230
718-677-6886
info@hebronfund.org

In Israeli contact info:
http://en.hebron.org.il/
02-996-5333
office@hebron.com
Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/hebronofficial
 
RECOMMENDED ARTICLES:
 

Beit Romano - Founded in 1879 | 16 Images